In Norfolk, the uniform Demerit points system is used to check a driver’s ability to drive for fault points. If someone holds a Virginia driver’s license, they are automatically subject to the system, whether or not they have a criminal record, such as a DUI, speeding or reckless driving.
The Department of Motor Vehicles has a set number of points for each offense, and a list can be found online. Demerit points remain stored in the driving aptitude register for a certain number of years. The duration of actual convictions varies, with more serious offences remaining over longer periods. It is important to challenge your points by contacting a traffic lawyer from Norfolk. Beware of the serious consequences associated with these points.
A reckless driving conviction, for example, carries a six-point penalty and remains in place for 11 years. It will take some time for a driver’s points to disappear and go back to zero. Typically, the division of points results in someone’s driving licence being revoked.
Drivers will be alerted to the new conviction and their insurance rates will rise, usually for three years. After a year of good behaviour, the driver receives a positive point for every good behaviour, which does not mean any new convictions.
Virginia does not use points for violations from other jurisdictions, but each state can choose to use its own system. For example, if a Virginia driver has a speed limit in Maryland, the Virginia DMV will evaluate the points on the driver’s license. The number of points would not be the same as it would be assessed by the Maryland MVA under the same circumstances. Virginia’s points system applies to all drivers in the state. It is possible to challenge a conviction that ultimately leads to a point on the licence, but it is not possible for a driver with a good record of behaviour, such as a conviction for driving without a licence or a conviction for driving without a licence, to be challenged on the basis of the points assessed on his licence.
This can be done by filing an appeal within 10 days of conviction, or by completely reopening the case within 60 days. One year of positive behaviour, i.e. without new convictions, leads to a positive point being added to the licence.
The passage of time is the only thing you can do. You don’t have to go to a hearing. The only thing that can be done is the passage of time. It is important that you contact a traffic lawyer in Norfolk to help you so that your driving rights are not affected for longer than necessary. Norfolk’s traffic lawyers can help you through the process by helping you get a restricted license while you’re still able to drive to the most important places in your life. It is also possible to take a driving improvement course.