Domestic Assault Maryland

Concerned about the penalty for assault on family member (domestic assault) charge in Maryland; – Call our Maryland Lawyers who defend criminal law charges in the state of Maryland.

Under Md. FAMILY LAW Code Ann. § 4-501

(1)  “Abuse” means any of the following acts:

(i)  an act that causes serious bodily harm;

(ii)  an act that places a person eligible for relief in fear of imminent serious bodily harm;

(iii)  assault in any degree;

(iv)  rape or sexual offense under §§ 3-303 through 3-308 of the Criminal Law Article or attempted rape or sexual offense in any degree;

(v)  false imprisonment; or

(vi)  stalking under § 3-802

More over Under Md. FAMILY LAW Code Ann. § 4-509

“A person who fails to comply with the relief granted in an interim protective order … is guilty of a misdemeanor and on conviction is subject, for each offense, to:

(1)  for a first offense, a fine not exceeding $ 1,000 or imprisonment not exceeding 90 days or both; and (2)  for a second or subsequent offense, a fine not exceeding $ 2,500 or imprisonment not exceeding 1 year or both…”

Domestic Assault Maryland

If you are facing a case of assault on family member (domestic assault) charges in Baltimore Maryland and you are wondering what the penalty is in Maryland, contact a SRIS Law Group lawyer for help.  You can reach us at 888-437-7747

We have client meeting locations in Montgomery County (Rockville) and Baltimore.

Contact our law firm today to speak with a lawyer today. An attorney from our firm will do his best to help you.

Our law firm has the necessary experience to assist you with this matter.  We will do our absolute best to help you get the best result possible based on the facts of your case.

Below is a sample case of assault on family member (domestic assault) in Maryland.

Nathan v. State

Facts:

Plaintiffs, day care provider, public school teacher, and private school teacher, had been the objects of domestic assault, child abuse or child neglect investigations by defendant local departments, and in each case the investigation resulted in defendants’ finding of either indicated or unsubstantiated. Plaintiffs petitioned for judicial review of defendants’ actions with respect to the inclusion of plaintiffs’ names on databases that they alleged were central registries.

Holdings:

The Maryland Court made the following holding:
  • Pursuant to Md. Code Ann., Fam. Law. § 5-706, a local department, after receiving a report and conducting an investigation of suspected domestic assault, child abuse or neglect makes a finding as to whether neglect or abuse was indicated or unsubstantiated or ruled out. A finding of indicated means that the local department found credible evidence, which has not been satisfactorily refuted, that abuse, neglect, or sexual abuse did occur. Md. Code Ann., Fam. Law § 5-701(k). A finding of unsubstantiated means that there was insufficient evidence to support a finding of indicated or ruled out. Md. Code Ann., Fam. Law § 5-701(v). A finding of ruled out is a finding that abuse, neglect, or sexual abuse did not occur. Md. Code Ann., Fam. Law § 5-701(t). If a finding of indicated or unsubstantiated abuse or neglect is made, it must notify, within 30 days after the investigation is complete, the person who allegedly committed the abuse or neglect of that finding and his right to appeal in an administrative hearing. Md. Code Ann., Fam. Law § 5-706.1(a).

If you are concerned about the punishment for assault on family member (domestic assault) charges in Maryland, contact our law firm immediately for help.

We have client meeting locations in Montgomery County (Rockville) and Baltimore.

Domestic Assault Maryland

Contact our law firm today to speak with a lawyer today. An attorney from our firm will do his best to help you.

Our law firm has the necessary experience to assist you with this matter.  We will do our absolute best to help you get the best result possible based on the facts of your case.